| The Finest Jewelry and Gemstone Center

The Four Cs of diamonds

Four Cs of Diamonds: cut, clarity, color, and carat | Photo: Shutterstock

Diamonds have been blessed by their cut, clarity, color, and carat. If you’re buying or selling diamond jewelry, it is very important to know and understand the main characteristics of diamonds.

Diamonds are classified by four critical characteristics: Cut, Clarity, Color, and Carat.

The Four Cs of diamonds define the quality of the mineral. Flawless diamonds are known as paragons.

A paragon is simply the perfect diamond – a diamond without inclusions and with an exceptionally bright white light.

The largest paragon weighs 137.82 carats (27.56 g) and is also listed in the 10th position of the biggest white diamonds ever found on the planet. It is called “The Paragon.”

Learning about the Four Cs is as important for a seller as it is for a diamond buyer. Grading diamonds is the first step in the definition of the price and market value of the mineral.

Certification is also known as the fifth C.

To make sure what you’re buying or selling, it is important to get an independent laboratory certificate that confirms the quality of a diamond.

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and the European Gemological Laboratory (EGL) are two of the most reputable institutions in the world when it comes to diamond certification.

Diamond Cut

The diamond’s brightness comes from its cut and polishing. Diamond facets let the light enter the mineral and then reflect it again.

The best diamond cuts allow outstanding light channeling conditions, so brilliance is a variable very much associated with the quality of the cut.

Diamond Clarity

The long formation of a diamond in Nature is the reason behind clarity. Inclusions, also known as “diamond flaws,” cause imperfections in the mineral and may lower its quality and price.

A simple magnification of “10x” can reveal a diamond’s DNA.

Inclusions are diamond imperfections that change the correct passing of the light. Nevertheless, these inclusions can sometimes cause interesting diamond surprises when combined in unique ways.

Diamond Color

The most valuable diamonds in the world are colorless. Diamonds are desired for their transparency, brilliance, and sparkle.

There’s even a diamond color range rating white diamonds from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow).

However, there are rare colored diamonds that may be an object of interest by jewelry collectors and passionate owners.

Diamond Carat

A diamond’s weight is measured in carats (ct) or karats (kt). One carat is equal to 200 milligrams.

The largest diamond in the world is “The Golden Jubilee,” and weighs 545.67 carats.

The Gemological Institute of America has launched a 4Cs iPad application for consumers. Download it.


Related Articles